How to disable location history and prevent Google from saving our location

0
233
How to disable location history and prevent Google from saving our location
How to disable location history and prevent Google from saving our location

One of the things to keep in mind with phones today (read Google by the way) is that they know where we are at all times, and that means that so do those who have built them and those who have created the software we use every time we unlock the screen. But this can be avoided to some extent, or at the very least made a little more difficult than it should be.

Mobile phones have GPS and we can prevent our location from being tracked without disconnecting them, simply by turning off what Google calls “Location History”, which is nothing more than the list of registered sites we pass through. This can be done in two ways: through the Google Maps app and in your Google Account. Let’s see the two steps.

Disable location history in Google Maps

With an Android phone in your hands, you’ll most likely have the Google Maps app installed, as it’s part of the Google Mobile Services that Mountain View installs on virtually every phone on sale. So if you have it handy, you can use it to turn off location history.

All you need to do is open Google Maps and slide the drop-down menu on the left to go to “Your chronology “, Once we’re inside, look for the three vertical dots in the top right and click Settings and privacy, We just have to look location settings, We now have several options.

Disable location history in Google Maps
Disable location history in Google Maps

The first shows the state of our automatic location. If you click on it, you can activate or deactivate it so that our phone no longer collects this data. Second, what interests us is: “Location history is enabled “, There we can turn it on and off with a few taps. If we want, we can then use the third option, which is “delete all locations”.

We can deactivate the history, delete it completely, delete only a few parts or schedule it to delete itself

There is a fourth interesting option that allows us to delete certain strips of our movements from the registry. It’s called “Delete period from location history” and we can decide which stripe to delete without affecting the rest of the record. At last We can enable automatic deletion, This way we can keep the history active and it will be deleted from time to time as we specify.

So remember:

GOOGLE MAPS> YOUR TIMELINE> SETTINGS & PRIVACY> LOCATION HISTORY IS ENABLED> SWITCH TO DISABLE

Disable location history in your Google account

Disable location history in your Google account
Disable location history in your Google account

If we want or if for some reason Google Maps is not installed on our phone, we can use it the Google app perform the same process. We simply find it in our installed applications, open it and follow the next steps.

With the Google app open, click the top right corner of our photo to open the options. The “Manage your Google account“and press it. A floating browser window opens with our account configuration. We swipe left to go from tab to tab until you see”Data and customization“.

These steps will take you to the same section of your location history as Google Maps

There we find a section “Location history “ (the same one we access through Google Maps) in the “Controls” section of your account activity. We just have to access and press the blue switch to turn history off. As we will see, Google tells us that this registration is only paused and that we can reactivate it at any time. You just have to click pause and voila.

Remember:

GOOGLE APP> PROFILE PICTURE> MANAGE YOUR GOOGLE ACCOUNT> DATA & PERSONALIZATION TAB> LOCATION HISTORY> SWITCH TO DEACTIVATE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here